Improvised Camp “Oven”

Did you ever find yourself camping in a region with a burn ban, and you forgot to check if their was a burn ban before you lef? Yep, me too.

One of my sons and I were camping and we found ourselves fireless. We had planned several of our meals over open flames, ya know, with burning wood.  Here’s how we handled the situation.

I had our trusty camp/catering stove so we put that to work.  We used the lonely fire pit grate to give us some distance from the heat. I didn’t have the cover to the frying pan, which went bye bye years ago.  I used a think plastic plate instead.

IMG_6805

The first run was too close to the falme and is bruned the buscuits.

IMG_6790

Our second try worked much better.  Here’s my happy camper and our results.

IMG_6807 IMG_6808 IMG_6806

 

I’m sure there’s a more effective way to make a camp oven.  When I figure it out I’ll write it up or post the link.

 

Thanks for stopping by.  Be uncommon.

3 thoughts on “Improvised Camp “Oven”

  1. Omg. You rock.  I was salivating over  those pics.

    Sent on the new Sprint Network from my Samsung Galaxy S®4.

  2. Buddy Burner – need two cans, empty tuna can and a #10 Coffee can.
    The Big #10 is your griddle, you can vent couple of holes just below the bottom.
    Tuna can – coil cardboard in it tight, cover with melted wax / paraffin.
    To use – light tuna can – your burner and place coffee can upside down over it, and ta-da !
    To turn off – place coffee can bottom on top of tuna can & it will extinguish the fire.

    DW Perry

Comments are closed.