Stirred by Tillicum Village

I was fortunate enough to accompany Graeme and his classmates to Tillicum Village on Blake Island two weeks ago. I’m glad they all had the opportunity to learn about Coastal Salish tribes. I would recommend a trip there if you haven’t gone.

Why do I feel fortunate? I love learning about Native American Cultures. I’m glad for myself as well my son.  All three of my sons are learning a lot about native peoples, often.  I think this is important.  Knowledge isn’t a savior, but it can open many doors to the world and relationships.

Often learning about another culture can begin the journey down the road to understanding. Knowledge and understanding can lead to appreciation of the other. Curiosity can help fuel these pursuits.

In the past few years there has been a stirring deep within me. You may wonder if that’s just my lunch talking. This is a deeper nagging than 10 star Chinese food can bring.¹  It is a nagging to be in community with more cultures than I have dwelt with most of my life. Perhaps that’s why I’m loving city life so much lately.  Not that I’m living in a diverse city.  Still, its more diverse than the small Midwestern towns I’ve lived in the past.  Difference to me is a good thing. It adds to the beauty of the world. I have learned so much from people that are different than myself. Sometimes I have learned through offense. For that I am sorry, but its inventible. The times that hurt the most are the times I don’t have an opportunity to say sorry.  The stirring to try to understand and to know the unknown pushes me into risky interactions.

As the ferry disembarked for Seattle I reflected on the day.  I was grateful for the interaction with a small segment of the Coastal Salish Tribes.  I was glad to hear their stories, history, and learn some common customs.  I look forward to learning more.  I’m guessing much my learning will happen around my dinner table while my sons inform me about the first Americans of this region.

 

Thanks for stopping by.  Be uncommon.

 

 

 

¹Since moving from the Midwest I’ve noticed it’s common in the Seattle area to find a heat rating on food.  This is especially common for Chinese food. I’ve most often encountered a 1-10 scale, 10 being the hottest. And no, the actual spiciness of the food is not standardized.  At least you know what to expect.

