Theological Musings Past and Present

Since coming to The Seattle School I’ve made some realizations about, well… everything. What’s on my mind currently is theology and ecclesiology.   I hear of these theologians writing about cultural shifting.  They’re using descriptors like postmodern, later-modern, post colonial, etc.  I notice when they wrote the article I’m reading or hearing a lecture on and it’s from the 70’s or 80’s.  I immediately jump to the question: Where were these people when I was first wrestling with new theology and new forms of church?  I could have used some of these voices from 2000-2004 especially.  I just remember frustration that there was no one to read. No one to talk to about my wonderings. No one to talk about how church and theology could be done different. Unbenounced to me they were there.

Those of you who were grappling with me on such things here’s a list of people you might like to hear from.  Most of them do not have a dominant cultural worldview.  It’s quite refreshing and challenging.  I dare you to read some of these people:  Colin Guton, Stan Grenz, Musa Dube, James Cone,  John Webster, and Gustavo Gutierrez.

They were there.  If I only new.  Maybe, in the muddling through these things with comrades was the best thing after all.  I just wanted some affirmation that I was still orthodox.  Which I got eventually from some unexpected people.

Thanks for stopping by.  Be uncommon.

2 thoughts on “Theological Musings Past and Present

  1. This post reminds me of that refreshing sense I got when I first read Brian McLaren’s “A New Kind of Christian” back in college. Not only did it bring to light some of my feelings about the church, it helped me to feel comfortable with them and the possibility that there were other “uncommon” folks like me.

    It’s like, in so many ways and places, we just need to keep being reminded: “you’re not crazy” and “you’re not alone”.

    Thanks for your words and for being someone who reminds me I’m not crazy and I’m not alone.

Comments are closed.