Improvised Roadtrip Coffee Maker

I really tried to find a Melitta pour over brewer in Berrien County before we left.  Nope.  Every box-store has French presses, and K-Cups in stock.  So this is what I came up with. Had I thought about it earlier I would have brought my food-grade funnel to do the job, but its packed in a box right now on a westbound semi.

All I used was a sink screen and K-Cup paper filters.  I let the grounds bloom like a Chemex or other pour-over then you, well… pour. I heated the water with the coffee maker in the room, or the Bunn out in the lobby.

The coffee it made was better than what we’ve had on the road so far. I know that I have arrived at coffee-snobdom for sure when I turn coffee down if I don’t like it.

Here’s what it looks like.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Improvised Roadtrip Coffee Maker

  1. I tried to comment earlier on this… but I seemed to be mobily challenged… This is brilliant! Glad it worked out for you and that the Coffee helped make the trip.

    I’ll miss seeing you to share beans! Good luck and God Bless!

Comments are closed.