a food expirement

I’m trying something with chili peppers.  I’m trying to create my own “chili powder”.  Not the kind that made from paprika and Cheyenne pepper that you put in your chili [as in stew.]  I’m going for Habanero and Serrano chili, chili powder.

My Mom was nice enough to grow some peppers in her garden for me since we were selling our house at planting time.

Where am I in the process?  I’m at the dehydrating stage.  When they’re dried I’ll roast some and then pulverize them with a mortar and pestle.  I’ll experiment with some salt and black pepper.  I will keep you posted.

Friendly reminder: wear gloves when working with these hot of chili.  I didn’t. I washed my hands four times with Dawn, and Gojo [mechanic’s hand cleaner] and I still had capsicum oil on me.  Which was awesome when I exercised after cutting them and got oil on my forehead and around my eyes. I’m ok now. I should have known better, this isn’t my first time working with these bad boys.  Maybe someday I’ll step it up to Ghost chilis.

