360

I just got home from Spartan Stadium in East Lansing.  Anyone else there?  What was there you ask?  U2.  My good friend Scott and his Dad Darrell invited me to scan tickets with Darrell men’s chorus.  They usually work the MSU football games.  This time they needed some back up, so I got the call.  I didn’t get to watch the whole thing, but I could hear every song.  I got to see them play some of my favorites like Where the Streets Have No Name, I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For, and In The Name of Love +.

I think probably the coolest moment of the show Scott and I happened upon.  Bono intro-ed In the Name of Love by talking about Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords.  Then there came a voice “from space.”  In the middle of the song they showed a clip of Astronaut Mark Kelly [Giffords’ husband]  in space quoting lyrics from the song, simply awesome.  They also had a segue of David Bowie’s, Space Oditty.  [More info on the original time they used it check out this post on Cosmic Log.]

Taking tickets was mostly fun.  We had back up from MSU Event Security and Police.  If anyone got too mad, they were there.  For having a no tailgate rule for last night, there were plenty of drunk people to mess with and make fun of.  One lady rubbed my head when I was scanning her ticket.  I had bend down a little to create a shadow because the sun was interfering with the scanner I had.

Over all it was a great night. 1/2 free U2 concert, free food and water.  Got to see lots of interesting, and mostly pleasant people.  And I got to experience it all with old friends.  Oh and I bought this shirt for way too much.

[For some reason this didn’t post right away. ]

