Coffee on Mackinac Island

Here’s a head’s up to anyone going to Mackinac Island in the future and will need some good coffee.   I only caught a couple places this trip.  Photos can be found here if you haven’t seen them yet.

J. L. Beanery
Atmosphere great.  Seating, a little stiff.  Last time I was there they had more comforatable seating.  They’ve made more room for more customers.  Good for them, just miss the comfortable chairs that call to you to stay longer and drink more of their coffee.  The Espresso was a little lite for my liking.  Now that I think of it, I wonder if they gave me the right drink. 🙂  It was ok, still a good alternative to a chain.  I would still choose them over the Starbucks.  I wish I would have had a chance to give the Beanery another try, all my trips prior to this they were my favorite.  I know that my coffee tastebuds are more trained than they used to be.

Espresso Cafe
Its in the lobby of a Victorian inn, which has a nice fenced in patio for guests.  It would have been nice to be quarantined there from the bustle of Huron St.  I didn’t have time to linger that day though, sadly.  It took very long to get this beverage – a cappacino.  Which tasted better than J. L. Beanery.

There’s a Starbuck’s on the island if you’re into them.  I’m not, especially now that I’ve just leveled up to Ametear Coffee Snob 1.

Last I ate at Grand Hotel they were serving the famous Jamaican Blue Mountain.  [Mom used to for at the hotel. :)]

Hope you enjoy the Island.  If you find another good spot, please let me know.   Bottoms up!

