Adventures in Chemex

couldn't wait to give this a spin

a 10 cup Chemex brewer and Filters

So I just recieved a Chemex Brewer in the mail last week.  If you’re reading this and don’t know what in the world I’m talking about here’s a really quick history and overview on why one would want such a thing.  It was invented by a chemest who wanted to extract all the properties of coffee, with control on the varibles.  This isn’t possible with at home coffee makers.  Also there are specially decided filters. Here’s the official Chemex site.

So my Chemex Brewer arrived a couple weeks ago like I mentioned.  It’s been fun so far.  I’ve journaled on all my attempts.  The count is up to 6.  I’ve followed several different brewing guides that have been pasted on to me or I found myself.  They are mostly all the same.  There are some nuisances that I’ve tried that haven’t made a huge difference to me yet.  The biggest thing I’ve noticed is that the biggest pot I brewed was the best tasting.  That makes sense to me since there are more grounds to wash over to release the taste more fully.  Having said that, they’ve all been great coffee.  So I’ve tried allowing the grounds to “bloom” or steep longer to see if that makes a difference.  I actually think it helps if it’s not too long.  Five minutes is too long.  Best guess as of now, is 1-4 minutes.

My first brew with the Chemex

my first chemex brew

I’m sure this is more than most of you wanted to know about coffee.  I hope that in my sharing all my adventures that I might spark some interest in some of you.  If not,  just thought I’d share anyway.

