Review: St. Charles Coffee House

Overall:

I really liked this gem.  I have to say, I’m glad the first place that I Googled was out of business or I wouldn’t have found it.  My only regret was that I couldn’t linger there and talk to the owner. I was making a run for others at a family reunion, plus I had Levi with me.  Although when I mentioned “Too bad we don’t have some books, we could sit here and hang for a while.” He replied, “Good thing they have books here we could barrow.” [Which they did.] I would highly recommend anyone in the St. Louis area looking for a good cup of coffee and somewhere to hang to check out St. Charles Coffee House.

Levi with his chocolate milk


Coffee:
When I first started this journey of writing reviews I thought it would be local places, or perhaps places that I could go more than once. I’m finding out, that I want to share with people what I discover on my travels, albeit few and far between.  My MO in the beginning wasn’t that different than dating.  You go somewhere that most people like, and a time where there isn’t any obligations, or expectations. A first date for coffee or lunch means casual, it’s got a end, we’ve got other things to do with the day.  So my first date drink was a caramel latte.  If you can screw that up, I’m not coming back for a second date.  I’ve realized that I need to cut to the chase [just like in the this paragraph] and I jump straight away to my former second date beverage, a cappuccino.  Some would call it a traditional or dry cappuccino.  Equal parts espresso, steamed milk, and foam. What I drank was a beautifully crafted capp.

Vibe:
The building was this awesome stone
building. Something that you’d find in the Alps, like Vienna in the 20s.  If you don’t know, is the essence and epitome of a coffee house.  There was some mixed seating, cozy chairs and couches, with tables and chairs.  A fireplace accompanied the cozy seating.  There was even outside seating in a walled/fenced patio. The counter was a bar top, not a plain counter from Lowe’s.  The location wasn’t outstanding.  It wasn’t nestled in cool shops or on a downtown street.  Yet it was set on a side of a hill, which really helped the alpine feel.


Hospitality:

We were  treated like guests to someone’s home from the second we opened the door.  Engaging, and light hearted conversation ensued.

A to-go lid "plug" I've only heard about but never experienced 'til now.

I will mention, the only faux pas is that the list of 5 drinks I gave him got screwed up somewhere between him repeating back to me what I ordered and what was made/written on the cups.  I would be capable of the same thing.  The taste of what was made was spot on, but it didn’t match the labels, and it just wasn’t what my wife wanted.  I hate disappointing her, especially with coffee because I can make her something she likes. I have a feeling though, I could have come back and it would have been made right.  There was no time for that; I was almost late for pictures as it were.  But I really must overlook this mix up, otherwise it was near perfect.

Again, I give St. Charles Coffee House 5 beans.  Check it out if you passing by St. Louis Missouri.
