Smells Like Teen Spirit

originally posted on Uncommon Brew 1.0 on October 17, 2009

I had to make that the title.  That was a shout out to all you Nirvana fans out there.  [Oh, am I the only one left? Surely not.]

I was talking one day at the Phoenix Coffee shop with a new found friend, Dave.  I should call him a Brother he follows Jesus too.  I don’t remember the main subject of the convo but he at some point he said “You smell like students.  They can tell that.  There are people in ministry that I would say don’t smell like kids that are trying to work with them, but you, you do.”  [Correct me if I’m wrong Dave, but that’s how I recall it.]

2 Corinthinas 2:14-17
“14But thanks be to God, who always leads us in triumphal procession in Christ and through us spreads everywhere the fragrance of the knowledge of him. 15For we are to God the aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing. 16To the one we are the smell of death; to the other, the fragrance of life. And who is equal to such a task? 17Unlike so many, we do not peddle the word of God for profit. On the contrary, in Christ we speak before God with sincerity, like men sent from God.”

Who do you smell like?  Are you incarnate like Jesus was with us?  Do you smell like the people in your school, neighborhood, or workplace completely?  Can people smell Jesus on you, yet still have the sent of the places they go and live?  Have you started using Christiandom Colagne, and you don’t smell like the neighborhood at all?

What do you smell like?

